About Kurukshetra University


Kurukshetra University, established in 1957, has a well-developed multi-faculty Campus spread over 473 acres of land on the south bank of Brahmsarovar.
Ever since laying of foundation stone by Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the First President of India, the University has taken quantum leaps and has emerged as an advanced centre of Study & Research for quality education in conformity with the international standards. The University has centrally air- conditioned auditorium with a seating capacity of 2500 and 70mm projector, Senate Hall, Conference Hall, well-equipped Sports Complex (Play fields, Gymnasium, Stadium, Swimming Pool, Tennis Courts, Volleyball, Basketball Courts, etc.), Teachers' Club, Club for Administrative staff, 25 Hostels, (11 for Boys & 13 for Girls and 1 for Foreign male students), School, Health Centre, Business Complex, about 700 quarters for all categories of staff. Kurukshetra University has a rich Jawaharlal Nehru Library with more than 3.80 lac books, 181 journals (Foreign & Indian) and 15,328 rare manuscripts, Internet Section of 200 nodes, Computer Centre, Museum, Instrumentation (USIC) workshop, NSS Centre, Students' Guest House, Faculty House, etc. In addition to Directorate of Distance Education, University College and University College of Education, the University has 45 Teaching Departments on the campus and 369 affiliated colleges situated in the Districts of Ambala, Panipat, Kaithal, Yamuna Nagar, Hisar, Jind, Karnal, Kurukshetra and Panchkula.

Organizing Departments of KUK


The Department of Tourism & Hotel Management is one of the best departments that began its journey in the year 1989 under the Faculty of Commerce and Management.
Within a short span of time, it has become a trend setter in tourism & hotel education by introducing Masters of Hotel Management and Catering Technology (MHM&CT) and Bachelor in Hotel Management & Catering Technology (BHM&CT) courses in 2002 and 2009 respectively. Besides running research programmes such as M.Phil and PhD in tourism & Hotel Management. The young and multi-disciplinary faculty of the department is determined to make it a Centre of Excellence at par with international standards.
The department aims at carving out a niche for itself amongst the best tourism & hospitality departments of the world by producing managers, who think and act globally and simultaneously, have their feet embedded in the grassroots.


The Department of Philosophy is one of the oldest departments of teaching and research in Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra. The Department was established in 1961 by KUK through the approval of Govt. of Haryana. It took a quantum leap right from the beginning both in teaching and research. The department has been engaged in improving teaching methods and materials in consonance with the requirement of the fast-changing scenario of Philosophical Studies. As a result, it has kept pace with the NET/SLET Programmes which is a part of UGC’s comprehensive plan to provide competent teachers to the nation. Epistemology, Logic (both Indian and Western), Scientific Method, Ethics, Philosophy of Religion, Social and Political Philosophy, Applied Ethics, Environmental Ethics and Gandhian Thought are the core courses being taught in the Department of Philosophy. Classical Indian and Western Philosophy, Modern Indian Thought, Contemporary Western Philosophy, Philosophy of Srimad Bhagvadgita and Buddhism are the thrust areas in research in the Department. The Department has produced more than 85 PhD scholars. Moreover, Department has started one new course i.e. Certificate Course in Bhagvatgita. Keeping in view the ancient cultural background and sacredness of Kurukshetra where Lord Shree Krishna delivered the incredible sermon of Srimad Bhagvadgita and taught the secrets of Yoga, this course has found favours with students from different streams.


The University School of Management is the oldest Management School in Haryana imparting business education and research. Starting as a part of the Department of Commerce way back in July 1973, it branched out to form a full fledged University Teaching Department in way back April, 1976. The University School of Management (USM) has since come a long way. Today, it is one among the premier management institutions in country.
Over the last 42 years the University School of Management has scaled enviable heights. It has produced management graduates who are holding positions of responsibility in industry, business and Government organizations. Its alumni are working with the multinational firms also. They have done their alma mater proud by earning name and fame while working for the transnational giants. Apart from the MBA programme, it provides facilities for Doctoral Research in all major business and industry domain.


The Department of Commerce established in 1971 is known for academic upgradation and research contribution in the field of commerce education. The department is running M.Com.(CBCS), M. Phil., and Ph.D. programme. The University Grants Commission sanctioned financial assistance to the Department under UGC SAP-DRS Programme for the first time in 1999. The Department has successfully completed three phases of the programme. The alumni of the department are playing great role in the society as some of them are contributing their services at the country level and state level administrative services. Some are holding top academic positions including Vice Chancellor, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Registrar, teachers in reputed universities and institutions in India and abroad. The Department is continuously involved in the academic pursuits and has recently published the first issue of Bi Annual Refereed Journal of the Department “Journal of Business Wisdom.”


The Department of Sanskrit, the first Post-graduate Department of Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra was established in 1956 as a unitary and residential university with the chief objective of promoting higher studies and research in Sanskrit, Indian Philosophy and religion, Indian History, Culture and Archaeology. The University was thus started as a Sanskrit University but within a couple of years grew into becoming a multi-faculty university. With the inclusion of Pali & Prakrit Studies, the Department was rechristened as the Department of Sanskrit, Pali & Prakrit in 1972 which at present imparts the M.A. Sanskrit (under semester system w.e.f. academic session 2008-2009), M.Phil. Sanskrit course w.e.f. 1976 (under annual system) and research at doctoral & post-doctoral research. It provides 4 groups of specialization, viz. Vedic Studies, Sanskrit Grammar & Linguistics, Indian Philosophy & Logic and Sanskrit Literature & Poetics at the M.A. and M.Phil. levels adapting the same to the UGC NET syllabus. The students of the department are exempted from tuition fee since the inception of the University. The Department is associated with a number of nationally and internationally reputed universities and centres of advance research in Sanskrit and allied fields through visiting faculty, special lectures, seminars and workshops with a view to synergize the classical and contemporary works in Sanskrit with modern methodology of learning and researches. The department has the rare privilege of having availed itself of the services of such nationally and internationally renowned scholars as Dr Satyavrat Shastri, Dr D.B. Sen Sharma, Dr Kapil Dev Shastri, Dr D.N. Shastri, Dr Shiv Raj Shastri, Dr Shriniwas Shastri, Dr Jag Dev Singh, Dr Suryakanta, Dr Baldeo Singh, Dr Gopikamohan Bhattacharya, Dr Maan Singh, Dr Parmanand Gupta, Dr Amar Singh, Dr Usha Rani Gupta and Dr Vijaya Rani, etc.

Web link of Kurukshetra University : www.kuk.ac.in

Web link of KUK Distance Education : www.ddekuk.ac.in